For Writers Waiting (wading?) Through the Holiday Waits…

On the first day of Christmas my query gave to me…

One rejection via email.

On the second day of Christmas my query gave to me…

Two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the third day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the fourth day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the fifth day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Five full requests!

Four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the sixth day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Six false scare emails, five full requests, four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the seventh day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Seven contests brewing, six false scare emails, five full requests, four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the eighth day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Eight reader reports, seven contests brewing, six false scare emails, five full requests, four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the ninth day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Nine typos glaring, eight reader reports, seven contests brewing, six false scare emails, five full requests, four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the tenth day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Ten times refreshing, nine typos glaring, eight reader reports, seven contests brewing, six false scare emails, five full requests, four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the eleventh day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Eleven agents smiling, ten times refreshing, nine typos glaring, eight reader reports, seven contests brewing, six false scare emails, five full requests, four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my query sent to me…

Twelve friends with agents, eleven agents smiling, ten times refreshing, nine typos glaring, eight reader reports, seven contests brewing, six false scare emails, five full requests, four no response, three form notes, two partial requests, and one rejection via email.

Of course, this was written all in fun. I hope you enjoyed it! But most of all, I hope each and every person seeking an agent finds on in their stocking this year (not literally, haha!) or if you’re on submission, may you get the publication deal of your dreams (much more appropriate for putting in stockings, I think). No matter what your writerly dreams are this holiday season, keep writing, keep dreaming, keep believing. 

Happy Holidays, y’all!

Leave a Reply

