Pitch Wars – It’s all AWESOMENESS.

So my dear writer friend, Mel Stephenson, kept mentioning Pitch Wars and I was all like, “Nah. In With the New was enough for me. I’m gonna take a break.” And then the post went up on Brenda Drake’s blog and I decided to go read it for fun. I mean, even if I didn’t want to enter I could still cheer on other writers, right?

cheerleaders11

Right.

Enter the Awesomeness that is Pitch Wars. I read the mentor bios and was like, “I’m a fool if I pass this up.” So Mel and I began comparing notes on mentors and working like mad to polish up our manuscripts.

First, a HUGE Southern THANK YOU to every mentor offering up his or her time, expertise, and direction to participating writers. I wrote in silence for years, afraid to show anyone my work. I’ve been overwhelmed by the open and sharing nature of the writing community. You’re all amazing and I’m thrilled to be a part of this.

aliceinwonderland gif

So here’s a little about me! I can even show you in pictures!

Tim1Kassee
I’m married to my best friend with two amazing daughters. We have a five year old cat, Chloe, who’s convinced she’s the boss and a one year old Aussie that herds everyone except my husband. 

inigo montoya

The Princess Bride is my favorite movie. Ever. I have refrigerator magnets to prove it.

OnceUponaTimsupernatural

Once Upon a Time and Supernatural are my two favorite television shows. In fact, they’re pretty much the only television I watch.

SavannahsCakeSavannahsCake3SavannahsCake2CameronsCake

I love to cook and can whip up some pretty amazing baked items, if I do say so myself. I even made all those cakes you see above (the first one was melting it was so hot in that room, by the way). So cookies aren’t out of the question for my mentor, just so you know.

Pranks

My family loves practical jokes. There’s little we won’t do for a scare or a laugh.

So what will you get if you choose me for a mentee?

Well, first of all you should probably know that I teach 7th grade. Students at that age have no filters – they will comment on your hair, your nails, your clothes and even ask if you realized you’ve gained a few pounds. In other words, I have rather thick skin. I take criticism well and look forward to applying your feedback to my manuscript.

Hellboy gif1

Second, you will have to work hard to find someone who can out-work me. What do I mean by that? I mean I’m not afraid of doing absolutely whatever it takes to make my manuscript as over-the-top amazing as possible. If that means you need five chapters rewritten in a week, I’m gonna fire up my Keurig and write until the entire thing runs like a well-oiled machine.

Bella_gif

Finally, I love all things creepy and everything steampunk and one day I hope to be able to give back to the writing community that has shared so freely with me.

 Frighteners

Leave a Reply

