Steampunk galore!

Steampunk Laptop available from datamancer.com

I first fell in love with the whole steampunk idea with Wild Wild West, starring Will Smith, in 1999. (Come on – you know you wanted to be in that water tower too!) My fascination continued with Van Helsing, Hellboy, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, and Sherlock Holmes (the Robert Downey, Jr./Jude Law version). The only problem was, I didn’t know what it was called. Perhaps I was living under a rock. I dunno.

This past week I read Soulless, the first installment in the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger. I’m hooked. I admit it. Someone please take the hook out of my mouth and I promise I won’t even try to get out of the boat. This stuff is just fascinating. And here’s the really interesting part…

I completed the first draft of my own novel a little more than a month ago and am struggling to start the first rewrite and major edits. There were several unusual parts that I planned to take out…a strange metallic object I referred to as a “scrutinizer” and a “hissing” oxygen tank were just two of them (oxygen tanks don’t hiss unless there’s a major leak – so I was planning to change it to a “squeaking” oxygen tank being pulled on a small metal wheels). But if I give it a little steampunk tweak – I get to keep both. Instead of removing these items (and more) I think I’m going to ramp it up. My brain has been a humming circus of ideas all weekend!

I think it’s safe to say that should my novel ever make it to publication (and produce some reasonable amount of profit) I will be making some major investments with the folks over at datamancer.com whose laptop designs have me drooling (see pic above).

Leave a Reply

